PDP – The Party

//PDP – The Party

PDP – The Party

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) became the first political party of Bhutan in the run-up to the 2008 elections when it was formed in March 2007. The party was formally registered as the first political party by the Election Commission of Bhutan on September 1, 2007.

In the first democratic elections in 2008, the PDP secured two seats in the 47-member National Assembly and it went on to form the smallest opposition party in the world. The member-elect of Sombaykha Constituency from Haa, Tshering Tobgay, went on to become the Opposition Leader. He went on to assume the role of the party president.

In the second parliamentary elections in 2013, the PDP won the elections securing 32 of the 47 seats in the National Assembly. Party President Tshering Tobgay became the second democratically elected Prime Minister of Bhutan. The PDP went on to win one more seat in the North Thimphu bye-elections in November 2016 taking the total ruling seats to 33.

By |2018-08-28T15:22:24+00:00August 28th, 2018|About|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment